University Doctorate programmes

HomeThemesEducationDefinitions University Doctorate
University Doctorate programmes

This is part of the new structure of university studies, which were adapted to the European Higher Education Area (EHEA). It consists of three years and has existed since 2010.

Third-cycle studies or doctorate programmes are designed for the advanced training of students in research techniques. It is divided into two cycles: one cycle consists of studies worth at least 60 credits that may form part of the Master's cycle. The other, the research cycle, culminates in the student defending a doctoral thesis they have composed containing original research.

Other statistical products


Interactive graphs

Microdata file



Auxiliary information


Your feedback.  Help us to make our web better

How would you rate the information on the site?
Very useful
Barely useful
Not useful at all
Would you like to make a suggestion?
Yes, I would